I keep writing the same poem

I know it’s the same poem.
I’ve written it dozens of times.
I recognise it,
even when it tries to disguise itself.
Sometimes the words move around,
change their meaning
or morph into new ones;
but I know it’s the same poem.
Here in Brooklyn,
where the houses are tall,
the footpaths uneven,
and some of the verandas wave flags;
it’s still the same poem.

It’s about anger,
and hope.
It’s always about anger and hope.
Sometimes, when I shout at it,
the poem roars back at me;
challenging. It wants something.

I keep writing the same poem;
I don’t dare stop.

© Ken Rookes.
30th June 2014

Leave a Reply

