Who will go for us?

Haiku for a calling.

A wondrous vision,
surprising, of God’s glory,
there, in the temple.

Isaiah sees God
high, upon God’s lofty throne,
seraphs attending.

Six wings per seraph,
two shielding face, two the feet,
and two giving flight.

The seraphs call; ‘Holy
to the Lord of hosts; the earth
fills with God’s glory!

The building shakes, filled
with incense smoke. Isaiah,
trembling, cries in fear.

Woe is me; I’m lost!
Sinfulness overwhelms me,
yet I have seen God!

A seraph flies down
with a coal from the altar,
touched it to his lips.

This has touched your lips
Your guilt is taken away,
your sin blotted out.

The Lord’s voice calls out:
Whom shall I send? He answers
Here am I; send me!

© Ken Rookes 2024

I am currently focussing on the non-gospel readings in the Revised Common Lectionary. For Trinity Sunday I am looking at the vision of Isaiah in Isaiah chapter 6 For gospel readings check the archives for May and June 2021, 2018 and 2015, (and even 2012, which is when this blog began). For 2021 click here.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.